Nachhaltigkeit: Den Regulierungstrend verstehen

Da sich die Ansprüche von Kundinnen und Kunden zunehmend in Richtung grüner und nachhaltiger Produkte verschieben, werden Themen wie nachhaltige Finanzwirtschaft (Sustainable Finance) und Unternehmensverantwortung (Corporate Responsibility) immer relevanter für die Strategie von Finanzinstituten.

Die Schlüsselakteure in der Finanzindustrie erweitern ihre Angebote bezüglich nachhaltigen Finanzprodukten.

Jahr für Jahr übertreffen sich die Anzahl der ausgegebenen grünen Anleihen und Kredite. Immer mehr Institute verpflichten sich den Prinzipien für verantwortungsbewusstes Investieren (Principles for Responsible Investment) und den Prinzipien für verantwortungsbewusstes Bankwesen (Principles for Responsible Banking)

Die Regulierungslandschaft

Hauptauslöser dieser Entwicklung sind die wachsenden regulatorischen Anforderungen.Gemäss Daten des Policy Outlook hat sich die Anzahl der Regulierungsmassnahmen bezüglich Sustainable Finance und Corporate Responsibility zwischen 2016 und 2019 verdreifacht. Ein vergleichbares Mass an regulatorischer Aktivität war laut dem Institute of International Finance nur in der Regulationswelle nach der globalen Finanzkrise von 2008 zu beobachten.

Zweifellos hat die Veröffentlichung des Aktionsplans der EU-Kommission: Finanzierung nachhaltigen Wachstums (EU-Aktionsplan für nachhaltiges Finanzwesen) wesentlich zu dieser erhöhten Aufmerksamkeit beigetragen. Seit 2018 hat dieser EU-Aktionsplan Finanzregulatoren auf der ganzen Welt dazu inspiriert, ähnliche Regulierungsmassnahmen zu ergreifen.

Der EU-Aktionsplan für nachhaltiges Finanzwesen hat zu den bisher weltweit komplexesten und übergreifendsten Regulierungsinitiativen in den Bereichen Sustainable Finance und Corporate Responsibility geführt. Die EU-Vorschriften zur nachhaltigen Finanzwirtschaft, besonders die EU-Verordnung über nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Offenlegung (Verordnung (EU) 2019/2088 über nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Offenlegungspflichten im Finanzdienstleistungssektor), haben Auswirkungen auf alle wichtigen Rahmenwerke zur Regulierung der Finanzmärkte, wie MiFID II, IDD, and Solvency II.

Die EU Taxonomie-Verordnung (Verordnung (EU) 2020/852 über die Einrichtung eines Rahmens zur Erleichterung nachhaltiger Investitionen) hat sich auf Finanzinstitute und grosse Unternehmen ausgewirkt, da sie Änderungen an der EU-Richtlinie zur Nichtfinanzberichterstattung (NFRD) einführte.

Darüber hinaus fördert die Verordnung, die den Rahmen für die EU-Referenzwerte für den klimabedingten Wandel und die an Paris abgestimmten EU-Referenzwerte schafft, das Vertrauen in globale Standards – wie die der Taskforce für klimabezogene Finanzangaben (TCFD) des Financial Stability Board.

Was ist Sustainable Finance?

Sustainable Finance wird unterschiedlich erklärt. Die am geläufigste Definition kommt von der G20 Sustainable Finance Study Group:

Sustainable Finance kann im weiten Sinne als Finanzierung einschliesslich der damit zusammenhängenden institutionellen und marktbezogenen Vorkehrungen verstanden werden, die zur Realisierung eines starken, nachhaltigen, ausgewogenen und integrativen Wachstums beitragen, indem sie direkt und indirekt die Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) unterstützen. Eine geeignetes Sustainable Finance Konzept kann zudem die Stabilität und Effizienz der Finanzmärkte verbessern, indem es sowohl Risiken als auch Marktversagen, wie zum Beispiel externe Effekte, angemessen berücksichtigt.

Was ist Corporate Responsibility?

Auch für die Corporate Responsibility von Unternehmen gibt es keine allgemeingültige Definition. 2011 schlug die EU-Kommission folgenden Wortlaut vor: Corporate Responsibility ist „die Verantwortung von Unternehmen für ihre Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft“. In anderen Worten:

Die Beachtung der geltenden Gesetzgebung und der Vereinbarungen zwischen Sozialpartnern ist eine Voraussetzung, dieser Verantwortung gerecht zu werden. Um ihre Corporate Social Responsibility vollkommen wahrzunehmen, brauchen Unternehmen einen Prozess zur Integration sozialer, ökologischer, ethischer, Menschenrechts- und Konsumentenanliegen in ihre Geschäftstätigkeit und Kernstrategie. Als Ziele gelten:

  • die Maximierung der gemeinsamen Wertschöpfung für Eigentümer/Aktionäre sowie andere Interessengruppen und die Gesellschaft im Allgemeinen;
  • potenziell negative Auswirkungen identifizieren, verhindern und eindämmen

Unternehmerische Verantwortung

Themen zur Unternehmensverantwortung wie Umwelt- und Menschenrechte, Sorgfaltspflicht und Diversität stehen auch ganz oben auf der Regulierungsagenda.

Australien, Brasilien, Kalifornien und Grossbritannien haben zum Beispiel moderne Sklaverei-Gesetze eingeführt. Auch Frankreich hat ein Gesetz über die Sorgfaltspflicht in Umwelt- und Menschenrechtsfragen in Kraft gesetzt.

Deutschland und die Schweiz diskutieren momentan die Einführung ähnlicher Gesetze zur Sorgfaltspflicht, und die EU hat ähnliche Regelungen angekündigt.

Was bedeutet das für Sie?

Die regulatorischen Entwicklungen haben die Erwartungen im Markt verschoben. So ist sind Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten beim Investitionsprozess heute eine selbstverständlichen Voraussetzung für den Marktzugang.

Finanzinstitute müssen Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken und negative Auswirkungen erkennen und diese aktiv minimieren. Sie müssen mit komplexen Konzepten umgehen – basierend auf ESG-Daten, die nur selten die Anforderungen der Finanzvorschriften erfüllen.

ECOFACT unterstützt Sie bei der Priorisierung wichtiger Handlungsfelder. Wir wissen, wo und wie Sie eingreifen müssen, damit Ihr Unternehmen die regulatorischen Anforderungen bezüglich Sustainable Finance und Corporate Responsibility erfüllt.

Was sind Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken?

Die EU-Verordnung über nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Offenlegung im Finanzdienstleistungssektor definiert Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken so: Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken sind ökologische, soziale oder Governance (ESG)-Ereignisse oder Zustände, die, falls sie eintreten, eine tatsächliche oder potentielle negative Auswirkung auf den Wert der Anlage haben könnten.

Was sind Nachhaltigkeitsauswirkungen?

Ein Vorfall oder Zustand im Zusammenhang mit Umwelt-, Sozial- und Mitarbeiterangelegenheiten, der Achtung von Menschenrechten, der Korruptionsbekämpfung und der Bekämpfung von Bestechung, der, falls er eintritt, einen tatsächlichen oder potentiell wesentlichen negativen Einfluss auf den Wert der Anlage haben könnte.

Was sind nachteilige Nachhaltigkeitsauswirkungen?

Nachteilige Auswirkungen auf Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren sind die negativen Auswirkungen auf Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren (d.h. Umwelt-, Sozial- und Arbeitnehmerbelange, Achtung der Menschenrechte, Korruptionsbekämpfung und Bestechungsbekämpfung), die sich aus Investitionen ergeben.

Beispielsweise können bestimmte Investitionen zur Verletzung der Rechte indigener Völker und/oder zur Aufrechterhaltung diskriminierender Praktiken innerhalb von Unternehmensstrukturen beitragen. Diese Auswirkungen sind nicht unbedingt ein Nachhaltigkeitsrisiko mit negativen Auswirkungen auf den Wert der Investition. Denn die die Risikobewertung untersucht, ob und inwiefern die Betroffenen und die Umwelt diesen Einflüssen ausgesetzt sind. Das Konzept der nachteiligen Nachhaltigkeitsauswirkung ähnelt dem Konzept von Risiko gemäss dem OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Business Conduct. In den Worten der OECD ist die Bewertung „nachteiliger Nachhaltigkeitsauswirkungen […] ein nach aussen gerichteter Risikoansatz“, der sich auf die Bewertung der Wahrscheinlichkeit negativer Auswirkungen auf Mensch, Umwelt und Gesellschaft bezieht – und nicht auf das Risiko für die Investoren oder das Finanzinstitut selbst.

Es ist Zeit zu handeln!

Finanzinstitute müssen ihre Prozesse aufgrund lokaler regulatorischer Vorschriften anpassen, obwohl verschiedene Rechtssysteme unterschiedliche Ansätze verfolgen.

Zu dieser Komplexität kommt hinzu, dass die Implementierungsfristen oft kurz sind – besonders angesichts der weitreichenden Auswirkungen der neuen Vorschriften auf die
Produkte und Prozesse.

Wir verfügen über einzigartiges Fachwissen bei der Ausarbeitung interner Richtlinien und der Entwicklung von Prozessen im Bereich Sustainable Finance und Corporate Responsibility.

Produkt

Policy Outlook

Mehr erfahren

 

 

Service

Regulatorische Implementierung

So unterstützen wir Sie

Did you know?

Zentrale EU-Rechtsrahmen im Bereich Sustainable Finance

Die EU-Verordnung über nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Offenlegung (Verordnung (EU) 2019/2088 über nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Offenlegungspflichten im Finanzdienstleistungssektor) legt harmonisierte Regeln fest zu:

  • den Erwartungen an Transparenz, an die sich Investoren bei der Integration von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken halten müssen;
  • der Abwägung nachteiliger Nachhaltigkeitsauswirkungen in internen Prozessen;
  • den inhaltlichen Anforderungen an nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Informationen über Finanzprodukte.

 

 

Die EU Taxonomie-Verordnung (Verordnung (EU) 2020/852 über die Einrichtung eines Rahmens zur Erleichterung nachhaltiger Investitionen) trägt massgeblich dazu bei, dass die EU bis 2050 klimaneutral werden kann. Sie schafft ein einheitliches Klassifizierungssystem zur Definition ökologisch nachhaltiger wirtschaftlicher Aktivitäten in Bezug auf:

  • Eindämmung des Klimawandels;
  • Anpassung an den Klimawandel;
  • nachhaltige Nutzung und Schutz von Wasser- und Meeresressourcen;
  • Übergang zur Kreislaufwirtschaft;
  • Verhütung und Kontrolle der Umweltverschmutzung;
  • Schutz und Wiederherstellung der biologischen Vielfalt und der Ökosysteme;

Die EU-Richtlinie zur nichtfinanziellen Berichterstattung (Richtlinie 2014/95/EU im Hinblick auf die Angabe nichtfinanzieller und die Diversität betreffender Informationen durch bestimmte große Unternehmen und Gruppen) verpflichtet grosse Unternehmen zur Berichterstattung über nichtfinanzielle und die Diversität betreffende Informationen im Zusammenhang mit Umwelt-, Sozial- und Governance-Fragen (ESG):

  • Alle EU-Mitgliedsstaaten haben die Richtlinie in nationales Recht umgesetzt;
  • Als Teil ihres Aktionsplans für nachhaltiges Finanzwesen hat die EU-Kommission Richtlinien zur Berichterstattung über klimarelevante Informationen veröffentlicht, mit dem sie die Offenlegung klimarelevanter Informationen verbessern will;
  • Sie wurde durch die EU-Taxonomie-Verordnung angepasst.

Mit der EU-Klimareferenzwerten und den EU Paris abgestimmten Referenzwerten.

 

 

(Verordnung (EU) 2019/2089 hinsichtlich EU-Referenzwerten für den klimabedingten Wandel, hinsichtlich EU-Referenzwerten für den klimabedingten Wandel, hinsichtlich auf das Übereinkommen von Paris abgestimmter EU-Referenzwerte sowie hinsichtlich nachhaltigkeitsbezogener Offenlegungen für Referenzwerte) werden zwei Referenzwerte eingeführt, die den Vergleich des Kohlenstoff-Fussabdrucks von Investitionen erleichtern:

  • Klima-Referenzwerte (EU CTB);
  • Auf das Klimaabkommen in Paris abgestimmte Referenzwerte Referenzwerte (EU PAB);

Die Einführung dieser Referenzwerte ist freiwillig. Allerdings entstehen durch die Kennzeichnung von Portfolios als entweder dem EU CTB oder dem EU PAB übereinstimmend sekundäre Offenlegungspflichten.

Mehr erfahren auf unserem Blog

November 30, 2020

The Swiss Responsible Business Initiative was rejected. What now?

November 6, 2020

Biodiversity and the Financial Sector: Recent Regulatory Developments

Oktober 23, 2020

Green Bonds: An Overview of the Current Frameworks

Bleiben Sie informiert

ECOFACT ist ein Katalysator im Übergang zu einer nachhaltigen Wirtschaft. Wir betreiben Forschung, organisieren Veranstaltungen und entwickeln Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Erfahren Sie Wichtiges zuerst.

Sustainability: Understanding the Regulatory Trend

Sustainable finance and corporate responsibility have become strategic topics for financial institutions as clients’ expectations are increasingly shifting towards green and sustainable products.

As a result, key players in the financial industry are incrementally enhancing their offerings and commitments related to sustainable finance.

For example, year after year records are being broken when it comes to the number of green bonds and green loans issued. Moreover, the number of institutions committed to the Principles for Responsible Investment and the Principles for Responsible Banking keeps increasing.

The regulatory landscape

One of the main triggers for this shift is regulatory action. According to ECOFACT Policy Outlook data, the number of regulatory actions tripled between 2016 and 2019. A similar level of regulatory activity, according to the Institute of International Finance, can only be found in the regulatory wave that followed the 2008 global financial crisis.

Without any doubt, the publication of the EU Commission’s Action Plan: Financing Sustainable Growth (EU Action Plan on Sustainable Finance) created even more attention. Since its launch in 2018, the EU Action Plan on Sustainable Finance has inspired financial regulators all over the globe to pursue similar regulatory action.

The EU Action Plan on Sustainable Finance has led to the most complex, overarching regulatory initiatives in the field of sustainable finance and corporate responsibility in the world to date. The EU sustainable finance regulations, in particular the EU Sustainable Finance Disclosures Regulation (Regulation (EU) 2019/2088 on Sustainability-Related Disclosures in the Financial Services Sector), have impacted all key frameworks regulating financial markets, such as MiFID II, IDD, and Solvency II.

The EU Sustainability Taxonomy Regulation (Regulation (EU) 2020/852 on the establishment of a framework to facilitate sustainable investment) has impacted not only financial institutions, but also large companies as it introduced amendments to the EU Non-Financial Reporting Directive (NFRD).

Moreover, the regulation creating the framework for the EU Climate Transition Benchmarks and the EU Paris-aligned Benchmarks encourages the use of and reliance on global standards such as those of the Financial Stability Board’s Taskforce on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD).

What is sustainable finance?

Sustainable finance has several definitions. One of the most commonly adopted is the one proposed by the G20 Sustainable Finance Study Group, which says:

Sustainable finance can be broadly understood as financing as well as related institutional and market arrangements that contribute to the achievement of strong, sustainable, balanced and inclusive growth, through supporting directly and indirectly the framework of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). A proper framework for sustainable finance development may also improve the stability and efficiency of the financial markets by adequately addressing risks as well as market failures such as externalities.

What is corporate responsibility?

As with sustainable finance, there is no commonly accepted definition of corporate (social) responsibility. In 2011, the EU Commission proposed the following definition: “the responsibility of enterprises for their impacts on society”. This means that:

Respect for applicable legislation, and for collective agreements between social partners, is a prerequisite for meeting that responsibility. To fully meet their corporate social responsibility, enterprises should have in place a process to integrate social, environmental, ethical, human rights and consumer concerns into their business operations and core strategy in close collaboration with their stakeholders, with the aim of:

  • maximizing the creation of shared value for their owners/shareholders and for their other stakeholders and society at large;
  • identifying, preventing and mitigating their possible adverse impacts

Corporate responsibility

In addition to the sustainable finance regulatory wave, corporate responsibility topics, such as environmental and human rights, due diligence, and diversity, have been at the top of the regulatory agenda.

For example, modern slavery laws have been put in place in Australia, Brazil, California, and the United Kingdom. In addition, environmental and human rights due diligence have been made mandatory in France with the Duty of Vigilance Law.

In the process of discussing and adopting similar laws on due diligence it is possible to identify countries like Germany and Switzerland, but also the EU which has announced its intention to issue regulation in this area.

Do you know what needs to be done?

As a consequence of this intense regulatory movement, what was deemed to be best practice yesterday—such as the integration of sustainability issues into investment decision-making processes—has now become the baseline regulatory expectation for access to the market. Financial institutions must not only be aware of their sustainability risks and adverse impacts but must actively work to minimize them.

Financial institutions must understand what needs to be done and find practical solutions to address complex concepts such as sustainability risk and principal adverse impacts—and this is currently expected to be accomplished using ESG data that rarely meet the requirements of financial regulations.

ECOFACT assists senior managers and decision-makers in focusing on key action items by prioritizing them. We have an in-depth understanding of what needs to be done to implement regulatory requirements pertaining to sustainable finance and corporate responsibility.

What are sustainability risks?

According to the Regulation (EU) 2019/2088 on sustainability‐related disclosures in the financial services sector, sustainability risks are defined as environmental, social, or governance (ESG) events or conditions that, if they occur, could cause an actual or a potential material negative impact on the value of the investment.

What are sustainability impacts?

An event or condition related to environmental, social, and employee matters, respect for human rights, anti‐corruption, and anti‐bribery matters that, if it occurs, could cause an actual or a potential material negative impact on the value of the investment.

What are adverse impacts?

Negative impacts on sustainability factors (i.e. environmental, social, and employee matters, respect for human rights, anti‐corruption, and anti‐bribery matters) resulting from investments.

For example, certain investments might contribute to the violation of indigenous peoples’ rights and/or the maintenance of discriminatory practices within corporate structures. These impacts might not necessarily be converted into a sustainability risk—have a material negative impact on the value of the investment—because the risk evaluation focuses on how rightsholders and the environment are affected. Note that the concept of adverse impacts is closely aligned with how risk is used in the OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Business Conduct. In the words of the OECD, assessing “adverse impacts […] is an outward-facing approach to risk,” focusing on assessing the likelihood of adverse impacts on people, the environment, and society that an enterprise may cause—and not about risk for the investor or the financial institution itself.

The time to act is now!

To successfully adjust their practices to these new regulatory expectations, financial institutions are compelled by regulators to act regardless of the fact that different jurisdictions are adopting different approaches.

On top of this complexity, the implementation deadlines are often short, especially when considering the far-reaching impacts these regulations have on financial institutions’ products and processes.

We have unique expertise when it comes to establishing policies and processes to address sustainable finance and corporate responsibility topics in the context of financial institutions’ operations.

Product

Policy Outlook

Find out what needs to be done

 

 

Service

Regulatory Implementation

Find out how it can be done

Did you know?

Key EU regulatory frameworks in the area of sustainable finance

EU Sustainable Finance Disclosures Regulation (Regulation (EU) 2019/2088 on Sustainability-Related Disclosures in the Financial Services Sector) lays down harmonized rules on:

  • the transparency expectations investors have to abide by when integrating sustainability risks;
  • the consideration of sustainability-related adverse impacts in their processes;
  • and content requirements for sustainability-related information of financial products.

 
 

 

EU Non-Financial Reporting Directive (Directive 2014/95/EU on the Disclosure of Non-Financial and Diversity Information by Certain Large Undertakings and Groups) requires large companies to report on non-financial and diversity information related to environmental, social, and governance (ESG) issues:

  • all EU member states have transposed the directive into national law;
  • as part of its Action Plan on Sustainable Finance, the EU Commission published Guidelines on Reporting Climate-related Information which aim to improve disclosure of climate-related information;
  • and it has been amended by the EU Sustainability Taxonomy Regulation.

EU Climate Transition Benchmarks and the EU Paris-aligned Benchmarks (Regulation (EU) 2019/2089 on EU Climate Transition Benchmarks, EU Paris-aligned benchmarks and sustainability-related disclosures for benchmarks) introduces two benchmarks to help investors compare the carbon footprint of investments:

  • Climate-transition benchmarks (EU CTB);
  • and Paris-aligned benchmarks (EU PAB).

The adoption of these benchmarks is voluntary. However, labelling a portfolio as following either the EU CTB or EU PAB triggers disclosure obligations.

 

 

EU Sustainability Taxonomy Regulation (Regulation (EU) 2020/852 on the Establishment of a Framework to Facilitate Sustainable Investment) is instrumental in enabling the EU to become climate neutral by 2050. It creates a unified classification system to define environmentally sustainable economic activities related to:

  • climate change mitigation;
  • climate change adaptation;
  • sustainable use and protection of water and marine resources;
  • transition to a circular economy;
  • pollution prevention and control;
  • and protect and restore biodiversity and ecosystems.

Read more on our Blog

October 23, 2020

Green Bonds: An Overview of the Current Frameworks

October 7, 2020

Mandatory Environmental and Human Rights Due Diligence: An Overview

August 28, 2020

ESG Disclosures in EU Regulation: Impact for non-EU market players

Sign up for updates

ECOFACT’s ambition is to be a catalyst in the transition towards a sustainable economy. We write, organize events, develop products and services. Be the first to know.